top of page

What is the OA?

The Order of the Arrow is Scouting’s National Honor Society. 
Founded in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, the Order of the Arrow has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives for over 100 years. Today, the service, activities, adventures, and training for youth and adults provided by the Order of the Arrow are models of quality leadership development and programming that enrich, support, and help extend Scouting to America’s youth. The Order of the Arrow has over 160,000 members in lodges affiliated with more than 270 local BSA councils

Unit elections

Scouts are elected to the Order by their fellow unit members, following approval by the Scoutmaster or Crew Adviser. To become a member, a youth must be a registered member of a Scout troop or Venturing Crew and hold at least a First Class rank.

Arrow of Light Ceremony

Are you wondering how the Order of the Arrow can help your Pack? Gila Lodge would love to participate in your Arrow of Light ceremony. Please contact your local Chapter Representative to schedule your Ceremony today!
bottom of page